The Larry David | “Curb Your Enthusiasm”

by Blake Stilwell

I realize I’ve been making a lot of sandwiches lately. I wonder what it is about the sandwich that makes it so popular in television and film. Maybe sandwiches are inherently funny? I promise more substantial foods in the future, but for now… It has long been a secret dream of mine to be so famous (or rather, well-known) that a deli somewhere feels compelled to name a sandwich after me. If this ever happened, I of course would want it to be delicious… like some kind of fried catfish po’boy with cole slaw or a gruyère grilled cheese with caramelized onions or something like that. To have a sandwich named after you that tastes terrible would be aggravating. Of course it happened to Larry David in the first episode of season five of HBO’s Curb Your Enthusiasm. larry-david-sandwich This both is and is not a joke. It’s a joke in that it’s a hilarious thing that happened to Larry on the show, it’s not in that this is really the sandwich we are about to make right now.

Ingredients:
• Smoked Whitefish
• Sabel (or some other kind of smoked whitefish)
• Cream Cheese
• Onions
• Capers
• Rye Bread

The sandwich itself is pretty easy to make, as all sandwiches tend to be. The ingredients might be a little hard to find, though surprisingly, smoked whitefish is widely available. I didn’t know this because I have never had a desire to buy smoked whitefish for any reason ever. And apparently Sabel is just another kind of whitefish. I couldn’t really find something called sabel, but I was able to find another whitefish, which… I guess is good. LarryDavid Even this monstrosity would make your dad proud. Personally, I wouldn’t care if I like my own sandwich or not, I just want the sandwich. In the end, it became the Richard Lewis because two kinds of fish just wasn’t good enough for Larry.

F**k you, Larry.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “The Larry David | “Curb Your Enthusiasm”

  1. David Pearce says:

    Dear Blake,

    I don’t know why I’m even leaving a comment, but I am. The name of the fish is SABLE, NOT “Sabel”. It’s even spelled, FOR YOU, on the Big Board at Leo’s Deli: Sable.

    Why can’t you just copy?

    And second, if you’re going to go to the trouble of making a blog web-page about the “Larry David”, why don’t you actually “go the extra mile” and find some REAL Sable, and tell us how the sandwich tastes to you then.

    I’m going to make this sandwich — I like the idea already — as near as I can to the original ingredients, and see how it tastes.

    David Pearce,
    Washington, D.C.

    • Dear David,

      I left the word misspelled is because it seemed like a way to be subtly aggravating in the way things subtly aggravate Larry on the show. I always try to find a way to add another dimension to these posts.

      No amount of extra miles will make sable easy to come by in the West Bank or Africa. But duly noted.

      Blake Stilwell
      Nablus, Palestinian Territory

  2. Chuck says:

    I just finished watching the Larry David sandwich episode. Did a Google to see what the sandwich looked like and came across this site. Good work Blake. I think I’ll pass on the sandwich though.

    David your comments were a bit harsh man lol. Sheesh.

    Chuck
    From Washington DC

  3. John says:

    WHAT
    DOES
    IT
    FUCKING
    TASTE
    LIKE?!?!??!?!?!?!!?

    what a stupid website

    • IT TASTES LIKE TWO KINDS OF FUCKING FISH WITH ONIONS AND CAPERS. IT’S NOT GOOD – THAT’S THE JOKE THE WHOLE EPISODE IS BASED ON.

      Fuck you, John.

      • David Pearce says:

        Well said! You tell him what’s what!! ~~~ Although the only thing different between us is that I would probably love the sandwich!

        And, I think you’ve got a great website, and I apologize again for my “high dudgeon” of June 11, 2015! 🙂

  4. […] only found one other instance of someone trying to make one of these (it’s been 10 years since the show aired–maybe […]

Leave a Reply

